LifeByDesign! Where are you now?

Ah well it has been quieter than the sea of tranquility here;
The reason why is incredibly simple: Money. The end of the year has dawned and although I am still full of pioneering fresh idea’s – the necessity to earn money to pay the mount Kilimanjaro of bills I have is unsurpassable…Well I would have so many toys I suppose.

The slightly annoying thing is that only days ago I had a message from a member of the public via the AcousticArtifacts blog asking where he could buy our product – Frustrating in that the product is to be no more than a prototype that will soon be forgotten – and was not received very greatly by the powers that be inside the university.

The thing I have found hardest about my job this summer is switching off.
I am currently working for a recycling plant. The plant itself has been quite well designed – Skylights throughout for more natural lighting, well insulated for more heat retention – It even recycles rainwater. My job inside the place as the owner of a shiny HND being a current design student? Tipping cardboard from cages into a giant conveyor – 12 hours at a time.

I almost quit the job on my second shift.

It’s not that I don’t like the job…Well acctually, I don’t.
But its the fact I just couldn’t switch off – constantly looking at improving efficiency of the place, how to save energy, things to make everyone’s job easier.
Doesnt sound that bad really but when you are thinking about this and knowing that you can’t do anything about it? That is frustration.

So I guess that’s it for this summer – I’m going to be a frustrated designer stuck in a labourers body.
Well, at least the coffee is cheap.

Leave a Reply

