Phase 1: The beginning

The project has now moved onto “Phase 1” .

Essentially this is where the magic happens. Physical and digital prototyping has begun.
But this doesnt mean it is the end of the part of the process that engages with people, I plan on using some co-design methods during the next 3 weeks to ensure that the final design makes not only design sense, but people sense too.

This means that I will be consulting both professionals and non-professionals with physical and sketched prototypes throughout the process and asking for feedback and encompassing their feedback in the next iteration of the prototype and repeating the process.

The process currently is being progressed on two fronts : The physical and the digital. While I am quite versed in making and remaking physical prototypes, the digital prototyping has been a continous learning experience for me, I am learning as I go, although it has lead to a lot of face-desk moments, it’s so far been quite fruitful. Of course this process has been made far easier with the expert guidence I’ve been receiving from my brother and professional software engineer, Paul (@paulaik).

During the weekend I took a trip home so that I could work with his tools and guidence, it turned into what you might call a design-a-thon. And this is what one looks like:

WP_000899
I had purchased a raspberry Pi right at the beginning of the project when I had assessed that my needs exceeded that of the Arduino and I could effectively kill two birds with one stone with the RaspberryPi. However short of loading up the Raspbian OS and making sure it booted and connected properly; not much had been done with it.

So first of all I had to solder the header connector so that we could use the Pi’s general input/output pins with the prototyping board that we had.

WP_000901

Once the header pin was completed I could begin to find my footing in the Python operating language that is used by the RaspberryPi. Being pretty close to the C language which I’d been relatively versed in before it wasn’t long before I could adjust to the Pi’s way of doing things and had it doing some basic operations such as blinking an LED (Sort of the hardware version of  “Hello world”).

WP_000902

Once this was done it was time to turn to the software side of the project….

Leave a Reply

