Prototyping Mark I

With the new deadline looming and plenty of notes from the previous iteration of the physical prototype it was fairly easy to find starting points to improve the design; once I had the previous design on my desk it was easy to see a few fairly large holes in the design

  • No indication of measurement
  • The scale of the “Fin” was way out
  • When illuminated, the display wasnt incredibly clear

I also felt that the visual feel of the prototype could be conveyed better; with this in mind I produced another 3d CAD model and laser cut the model bit by bit

WP_000941

This shows the prototype in its earliest most basic state. I had to get a little creative with the body, essentially reverse engineering it from measurements I sketched so I could physically see them before I translated them on to the computer

WP_000946Once it was all lovely and assembled it looked like this

WP_000944And here it is next to the concept sketch I had made for it

WP_000950
As Brian Cox would say “It’s a majestic story”.

One response to “Prototyping Mark I

  1. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

Leave a Reply

